The Hobbit!

12 Jan

The Hobbit isn’t just “O.K.” It’s a masterpiece. There. I wrote it. I felt compelled to do so, considering all the humdrum, long-faced reviews I’ve been reading lately, whether in formal critiques or comboxes.  I’ve read how bored some people were, especially during that much-maligned first hour when apparently there was nothing going on and the movie screen was little more than a big blank, except for some chalk drawings of what appeared to be dwarves and a cold vacuum where there ought to have been meaning and character development.

I have no idea what these people were actually doing during that first hour. I personally was riveted for the entire film. Thankfully, I’m not alone in the universe. My two oldest sons were thrilled to bits; my younger brother and I had the longest, nerdiest phone conversation possible trading lauds back and forth…well, that was it, I guess, until I read these two great reviews, both of which capture my feelings nicely and toss a few well-deserved barbs at critics (so I don’t have to):

Fr. Dennis At the Movies

And, my favorite, this one by Seth Abramson

 Enjoy!

Pass me that rag, will you? Someone splashed negative criticism all over the side of my face!

Pass me that rag, will you? Someone splashed negative criticism all over the side of my face!

5 Responses to “The Hobbit!”

  1. CMrok93 January 13, 2013 at 3:08 am #

    The Hobbit still works, sometimes beautifully, but more as the first chapter in a larger story than an actual standalone film. Nice review.

  2. Dom Jenks January 13, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    I loved it too!

  3. eegahinc January 13, 2013 at 10:37 am #

    A lot of the Catholic reviews I’ve read seem bent out of shape that Jackson isn’t developing the themes or characters at the same pace or in the same manner that Tolkien did. But I think (or hope) that they’re jumping the gun because of their over-familiarity with the material. I really liked the movie and am willing to give Jackson the time to get to the end of the story where the over-arching themes will become apparent.

    • Dan Lord January 14, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

      Yes indeed–I’m more than willing, actually. Fellowship of the Ring earned my trust. I believe in Peter Jackson!

  4. Steven January 14, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

