Captain Quirk

16 Jan

I’ve watched this a couple of times now, and the word that keeps coming to me is “quirky.” I’m kind of the Jeff Goldblum of Catholic evangelists, I think.

Anyway, this is a “Today’s Message” installment from the Renewal Ministries website that goes along with my appearance on “The Choices We Face,” which should air sometime in March. I’ll keep you posted. 

More significantly, though, now that I’ve dropped Jeff Goldblum’s name, I’m sure all you can think about is that 2002  interview he did with Jiminy Glick (played so masterfully by Mr. Martin Short who somehow never, EVER breaks character). So, here it is! See if I’m crazy–me and J. Goldblum share some idiosyncrasies that I was never aware of before tonight. Or maybe it’s just late and I should havewritten another That Strangest of Wine Guides installment. You tell me.

3 Responses to “Captain Quirk”

  1. Brian January 16, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Good one!

  2. Fr. John F. X. Palatucci January 21, 2013 at 7:24 am #

    Hi Dan. Great story. Mine is a bit similar. I was once a bass player for a prog-rock band in LA in the 80′s and part of the 90s. We never managed to go anywhere other than LA pipe dreams but I do admit we were pretty darn good. But, like you, there was something always missing and no matter what I did for go the other way and fight back it kept on reeling me in. Jesus is a good fisherman, I must say. So after trying to be a bad-ass and fight back I lost and now I’m serving Him as a priest in NY. I still my instrument but only in my room to records. It’s hard to find musicians who are Catholic and practicing. Usually-as you know so very well-its anti-Catholic. (It was the anti-Catholic part of the Hollywood scene that helped me to get back into my faith, ironically.) And if I were to mention being a priest to boot….ughh, I can’t imagine the interrogation I’d get. Anyway, enough of me. Keep up the good work and let’s keep each other in our prayers. We all certainly could use some! Bye for now.

    • Dan Lord January 21, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

      Will do, Father! Thanks for being a priest, and God bless!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

